Thirteen Reasons Why |Book Review


thirteen-reasons-why
“Everything affects……everything”

Title: Thirteen Reasons Why

Author: Jay Asher

My Rating: 4

Summary: Clay Jensen returns home from school one day to find an unusual package addressed to him. Inside the package are 7 cassettes from Hannah Baker, his class mate, who has recently killed herself. Hannah explains all the thirteen reasons that led her to her suicide and while following her voice around the city Clay discovers things that change his life forever.

My Thoughts: So apparently this book has been around for 9 years and I don’t know why I only recently heard about it. The story line seemed really interesting so I decided to give it a go.

This is a very attention grabbing book and the curiosity of the next reason kept me going till I was done with the book. I loved the very simple writing style of this book and the tapes made it a very interesting read.

I just loved how well plotted every single story was and how they all fit together in the end. It was kind of hard to keep track of all the characters at time but that didn’t make it any less interesting as it all made perfect sense in the end.

This book clearly deals with a very dark and important issue -suicide- and was really hard to read at times. There were parts that made me bawl my eyes out and other parts that made me laugh between tears.

Reading Thirteen Reasons Why really changed my perspective about life, more importantly how fragile life is. It made me realize how a seemingly insignificant action can have a very huge and long lasting effect on someone else.

This is an amazing book and I will recommend it to everyone.

Leave a Reply

