The Great Gatsby |Book Review

downloadTitle: The Great Gatsby

Author: F. Scott Fitzgerald

My Rating: 5

Summary: Nick Carraway rents a house in the West Egg district of Long Island, a wealthy but unfashionable area. His next door neighbor is a mysterious man named Jay Gatsby who lives in a large mansion and throws extravagant parties every Saturday. Gatsby lives in a luxurious mansion but is the man behind the curtain, he never participates in his parties and very people claim to have met him. Nick soon discovers a connection between his cousin,Daisy Bunchanan and Gatsby that may change their lives forever.

My Thoughts: I’ve watched the movie (which I absolutely love) many times. I read this book with my Goodreads reading buddy, Soph Hettsy and it was an amazing read.

The plot of this book was really capturing. The jazz age was so mesmerizing that all I wanted to do was somehow experience it firsthand. The characters were so well written and were very realistic and interesting at the same time.

I hesitated when I first picked up the book because it was written about 90 years ago and I thought it will be really hard to read, I was so wrong. I loved the writing style of the book and that made it really hard to put the book down. I read this book in three sits whereas Soph finished the entire thing when we were supposed to be reading chapter 3.

This book is a perfect blend of mystery, drama and romance. The characters well so well written and the plot was very well set that it was so hard to put the book down. The climax were very well devised and don’t even get me started about the end.

I recommend this book to everyone. This is a work of literature that everyone needs to admire.

Favourite Quote: “So we beat on, boats against the current, borne back ceaselessly into the past.”

Have you read the book? If so, feel free to let me know about your thought about this book.

Leave a Reply

