It’s 2017

Hey it’s Emaan!

It’s 2016! I meant 2017, I’ll be making this mistake for a while.

2016 was a very busy year for me and in between studies and exam, I did not get enough time to read, but I somehow managed to read 32 books. Now that I look back to it I read some amazing books this year.

My favorite reads of 2016

My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmin Warga
18336965

This book follows that story of 16 year old Aysel, who is depressed and suicidal after the city can’t forget her fathers crime. She meets Roman, another suicidal teenager, in an online forum and together they make a pact to end their lives. It is an amazing book about dealing with your problems and finding hope in the darkest of times.

Forty Rules of Love by Elif Shafak

17251641

The fascinating story of Ella Rubenstien, a literacy agent, who finds a reflection of her life in a manuscript she has to review. Soon Ella realizes that she needs someone to save her just like Rumi saved Shams. A great book capturing the effect reading can have on someones life.

My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult

download

Anna is tired of being spare parts for her sister, Kate suffering for leukemia. After Anna makes a very important decision, the family struggles to keep Kate alive. My Sister’s Keeper is an incredible book about how people are willing to do everything for the ones they love.

With every high there is a low and this year wasn’t any different. Along with some great books I also read some not so great books.

My least favorite read

After You by Jojo Moyes

download (3)

Sequel to a very good book, Me Before You, After Failed to impress me. I felt that the sequel didn’t do the book any justice and felt that it was just written for the sake of writing a sequel after the success of the first book.

I hope you guys had an amazing start to 2017. So what are your favorite reads of 2016?

2 thoughts on “It’s 2017

Leave a Reply

