It’s Kind of a Funny Story |Book Review

 

downloadTitle: It’s Kind of a Funny Story

Author: Ned Vizzini

My Rating: 3

Summary: Craig Gilner is determined to succeed at life which basically means to get into the right school and get the right job. After he gets into Pre-Professional High School the pressure become unbearable and he stops eating sleeping and then one night he nearly kills himself. This suicidal episode gets him checked into a mental hospital but due to renovation he is stuck in the adult psychiatric ward. there he meets people who help him recover and lead him to his unexpected path of happiness.

My Thoughts: I came across this book while going through Goodreads and I knew that I needed to read this book. Not only the story seemed interesting but the cover was also very attractive.

When I started this book it soon captured my attention and I just couldn’t put it down. I read about half of it in one sitting and then I just lost interest. I felt like there was no significant development in the second half of this book. The story was really dragged and it became boring, but my curiosity kept me going.

Like many other books, this book also had its highs and lows. The story was really captivating and attention grabbing but the writing style was just really plain and didn’t work for me. I loved the humor and this book make me laugh and even choke up at times.

I loved some of the characters and appreciated how well written they were, but others were really boring and dull. Craig was cleverly written and I found him very relatable. He taught me a lot of things amongst which the main is to never to be ashamed to seek help and keep on fighting and to never lose hope.

Although this book was boring at some parts but it’s still kind of a good book.

Favorite Quotes: “I watch it: a spike, then a flatter spike, then a dip and a repeat. That’s you. That’s your heart.”

 

Leave a Reply

