Me Before You |Book Review

 

Titl15507958e: Me Before You

Author: Jojo Moyes

My rating: 5

Summary: Louisa Clark has just lost her job. Money is tight for the Clarks and everyone basically depends on Lou. So with no qualifications and little work experience Lou starts job hunting. The only suitable job she finds is taking care of a disabled man. With much reluctance Lou decides to give it a go. She is surprised to know that she has gotten the job. With much excitement she shows up to work to meet Will Traynor, quadriplegic she has to take care of. But the problem is that Will is simply annoyed by Lou’s presence.

Title interpretation: The meaning of the title is basically opaque. To me it means something like me (Lou) before you (Will) came into my life.

My thoughts: So this book has been out for quite a while now, four years to be exact. The recent recognition this book has received has been recently after it was announced that there will be a movie adaptation. Following the trailer release, I decided to give this book a go.

The book seemed really appealing, so I started it. I know this may seem weird but from the first chapter I fell in love with it. The author’s style of writing is really catching and I just wanted to read sentence after sentence, paragraph after paragraph.

It is nearly impossible not to fall in love with the characters of the book. Lou is so cheerful and full of energy and she really brings life to wherever she goes. Then there’s Will who is full of sarcasm and has given up on life. I really love how realistic the relationship between Katrina and Lou is. Lou hates her so much but she is still the only person she opens up to. Nathan is only there for a short period of time and mostly he’s just taking care of Will and he keeps to himself.

A lot of people think of Will as selfish for his decision but I think it was otherwise. Will had always had a big life before the accident. He had gone on adventures and traveled the world and then suddenly he was bound to wheelchair with no control over his own body. He was simply being forced to live a life he despised. And besides that he wanted Lou to do something with her life and he knew that she wasn’t going to do it while she took care of him. But that is only my opinion and yours can differ.

This book has received a lot of criticism recently as people say that Will is shown as stereotypical and quads can do a lot in their lives unlike Will who thinks that his life is over.

I absolutely love this book. I enjoyed reading it so much that I just couldn’t put it down and finished it in two days. This book has taught me a lot about how grateful we should be for what we have as it could’ve been much worse. This book makes you laugh at some points and cry at others. I recommend it to everyone. It’s a must read.

One thought on “Me Before You |Book Review

Leave a Reply

